Revisiting the Concept of Following One’s Heart

And the difference between pure feelings and those corrupted by emotions, thoughts, and others’ expectations

Marcus aka Gregory Maidman
6 min readDec 25, 2023

--

File ID: 48546347 by Ellerslie licensed from depositphotos.com

Thanks to Jenine "Jeni" Baines dropping a link to Randall Snyder’s My Father’s Colt 1911 in one of her comments on my suicide awareness and prevention essay, There’s No Shame in Contemplating Suicide, I became aware of Randall. Upon scanning his profile and reading his The Worldwide Society of the Profoundly Gullible, Sometimes well-intended, the style and energy of which reminded me of White Feather, I promptly subscribed.

Yet as Randall said in his profound contemplation of the wonders of nature and the vagaries of life and death, Truer than True, that is not what this piece is about.

Last night I read Randall’s exploration of the human race’s capacity for both so much good and so much evil, I Get It,

“Take heed,” they say, “for man was made with just as much
capacity for evil as for good.”

which he concludes with the question, “Do you get it?”

I commented:

I share the sentiments you expressed. As for getting why there is such darkness in the world, I have my own takes on it. One is there cannot be light without darkness. Here are…

--

--

Marcus aka Gregory Maidman

Living 17,043rd human life. I am Marcus (universal name) or you may call me Greg; a deep thinker; an explorer of ideas and the mind.